Menu

Hostmonster Reviews

Hostmonster Reviews
171
com_k2.item
(44 Reviews, 4.14 out of 5 Stars)
Hostmonster Reviews4.14 out of 50 based on 44 voters.


HostMonster is a reliable web hosting provider that has been in the market since 1996. The company has been offering web hosting services which include unlimited disk space, unlimited bandwidth and add-on domains which are also unlimited. They provide hosting solutions to individuals and businesses which enable them to start using their websites immediately after sign-up.

hostmonster Reviews

• Free Domain (Forever)
• Free Website Builder
• Bandwidth which is Unlimited
• Disk Space which is Unlimited
• Hosting of Unlimited Domain Names in 1 Account
• Unlimited E-mail Accounts
• FTP, SSH, SSL, MySQL, Perl, CGI etc.
• Guaranteed 30 day Money Back Refund

HostMonster offers quality shared hosting products which are powerful, at affordable prices. They have cPanel Control Panel which has great features and is easy to use. They provide their customers value for their money with their quality services. The 24/7 Customer Support is available through phone, chat, email and there is user-based forum.

There are mixed reviews about HostMonster and although they have been providing reliable service, this has worsened over the years and customers have been complaining.

Sales Complaints

The company increases the charges after the first year and customers who prefer locked-in rates find HostMonster charges unpredictable moving elsewhere.

Complaints about Technical Support

Technical support was good but the new reps are slow, taking too long to respond to customers, although chat support is better. The new technical support reps are unable to resolve in-depth issues. They refer the customer to tutorials and forums from which they expect them to get solutions. They are therefore not helpful and they fail to resolve certain issues.

Functionality Complaints

Some customer accounts have been hacked. There is frequent CPU throttling and there are numerous errors which they fail to resolve and worse still, they do not take responsibility for the problems but blame other factors. The 99.9% uptime is not quite what they claim. There are prolonged downtimes which can even last for 2 days.

The servers are down which slows or makes the sites inaccessible to users. This is frustrating for users who have e-commerce storefronts and those who depend on AdSense revenue. The prolonged downtimes make them lose sales and revenue. Most people know what happens when a visitor tries to browse a website which is offline and the servers fail to respond, they go elsewhere to competitors’ websites and hardly return. This is how business is lost when using unreliable shared hosting services.

Customer Support Issues

There are customers who complain that, their accounts have been closed without explanation. This is very frustrating because if there is a problem the customer should be notified.

"Unlimited"

Like other share hosting providers that offer "unlimited" services and do not deliver their promises, HostMonster is not an exception. They mislead customers and allure them to host with them but when they exceed the server capability they charge them additional charges. After sign-in they give you limits on files to post, Tables and videos among other caps.

Last modified onFriday, 05 April 2013 03:05
More in this category: « HostGator Reviews HostPapa Reviews »

11 comments

  • Jessica

    HostMonster is a reliable web hosting provider providing some of the best features. The company has been offering attractive web hosting services at affordable prices which include unlimited disk space, unlimited bandwidth and unlimited domains. They have the best configured servers providing effective hosting solutions to individuals and businesses which enable them to start using their sites immediately after sign-up.
    The customer service responds so fast that within just a minute of calling them someone is attending to you.

    posted by Jessica Tuesday, 26 March 2013 21:01 Comment Link
  • Zoe

    I have been having an account at HostMonster for 2 years. I am happy with their services especially customer service staff who act fast when I raise any issues. I hosted all my sites here for those years and since I do not receive a large flow of traffic on my websites I don’t have any major issues with them. The problems I get are resolved quickly. Technical support reps are knowledgeable and prompt when responding. The transfer of my domains was done fast without problems. I highly recommend them.
    There was a time I had a problem but when I contacted Help Desk they acted promptly. I explained what I needed and they gave me clear instructions which solved the problem right away. I enjoy dealing with Help Desk staff because I know they are caring people.

    posted by Zoe Monday, 25 March 2013 17:41 Comment Link
  • Trent

    We realized that just like other shared hosting providers HostMonster has caps. When you exceed CPU limits they will tell you to upgrade to the more expensive plans or they delete files saying you have violated their Terms of Service. They also limit MySQL database files after sign-up. Although this is quite common with shared web hosting providers there are still some who do not limit you so much.
    My account was suspended in fact 2 times due to excessive CPU usage but when I moved to their competitor everything has been fine. There is regular CPU throttling which make my website report numerous errors. They fail to resolve and worse still, they do not take responsibility for these problems but blame other factors. The 99.9% uptime is not quite what they claim. There are prolonged downtimes which can even last for 2 days.
    The servers are down which slows or makes the sites inaccessible to users. This is frustrating for me because I have an e-commerce storefront and I depend on this revenue. The prolonged downtimes make me lose sales and revenue while many of the emails bounce back. We all know what happens when a visitor tries to surf a site which is offline and there is no response, the customer goes to a competitors’ website and hardly returns to your site. This is how I have lost business is lost when using such unreliable shared hosting services. Avoid them unless you can tolerate this.

    posted by Trent Saturday, 16 March 2013 07:00 Comment Link
  • Brett

    Finding a reliable web host that charges affordable prices is not easy. Hostmonster is among the best hosting providers I know. I have not experienced any problem so far.
    Customer support is superb.
    One of their agents, Cameron was very professional. He provided solutions in areas that I was worried about making my work easy. Keep up the good work I am one of your loyal customers.
    There are cheaper web hosts out there but I am happy with HostMonster technicians because I know whatever happens it will be sorted out. The support team has a lot of respect and that is why I have remained with HostMonster for 3 years because they have the best customer support. You can have the best features and tools but if this is not backed-up by support it can be hard for you especially when issues arise. I expect to remain with them since I transferred all my sites here. Kudos.

    posted by Brett Monday, 25 February 2013 11:44 Comment Link
  • Cade

    I started a blog with HostMonster but like other Web hosting providers that offer ‘’unlimited’’ services and do not deliver their promises, HostMonster was not an exception. They mislead customers and allure them to host with them but when they exceed the CPU capability they charge them additional charges. After sign-up they limit your files, tables and videos.
    They block accounts when CPU usage exceeds their caps. If you receive a lot of traffic every day you need to upgrade to the expensive plans to avoid disappointment.
    Technical support was good in the beginning when I hosted with them but the new reps are slow, taking too long to respond to issues, although I prefer chat support because it is better. These new technical support reps are unable to resolve complex issues. They usually refer me to tutorials and forums from which they expect me to get solutions. They are therefore not helpful and they fail to resolve some of the issues.
    There was a time that, my accounts were closed without explanation. This is very frustrating because if there is a problem I expect to be notified.

    posted by Cade Monday, 21 January 2013 12:51 Comment Link
  • Jakob

    Hostmonster customer service is the best I have ever seen. It is what keeps me with this company because t is hard to get such service elsewhere. They are polite and efficient. I have dealt with them many times and they are awesome. They are a rare species because what you get with many companies are ignorant people who don’t care.
    I am happy with Hostmonster because my sites and those belonging to my clients are running smoothly. I highly recommend them. It seems that there is nothing that I can say is beyond the. Even problems that I thought were complex have been fixed with their help. They replied my emails fast explaining what the problem was and how I can avoid a repeat in the future.

    posted by Jakob Wednesday, 16 January 2013 14:46 Comment Link
  • Ronald

    I am a web designer and I have been using their interface which makes my work much easier. It took me a short time to master the features because I was a beginner but now I am conversant with all the software and programs. Website building is my everyday work and when it is easy and straight-forward my work is fun. I am able to manage all my accounts and those of my clients efficiently. I particularly like their cPanel demo which I tried before I bought their packages. The control panel is easier to use after working on my clients’ websites. These days I can create a website and integrate it with the payment systems within minutes.
    It is true that Hostmonster provides high-quality services at reasonable rates and their customer support is great.

    posted by Ronald Tuesday, 11 September 2012 03:44 Comment Link
  • Charlie

    Hostmonster technicians are very knowledgeable and they can handle any problem. What I like most about them is that they have great interest in their work. They are keen to find solutions and they will not leave you until they resolve your problems.
    Technical support is prompt in responding to queries. They are friendly and they talk to you with respect always getting in touch until you are satisfied with the solutions. By giving clear and concise instructions that are straight-forward they help to resolve the problems fast. Their timeliness and assistance is rated highly among users. I recommend this web host.

    posted by Charlie Monday, 30 July 2012 19:29 Comment Link
  • Chase

    I am a customer at HostMonster but I strongly feel that I need to move my sites to another web host. This is due to the fact that my website does not function as it should due to frequent SQL server connection errors. The SQL servers are so slow and HostMonster agents have been trying to convince me to upgrade to VPS or dedicated server but my site does not have excessively large files. Their service is unreliable sometimes. I have planned to move my sites to a more efficient web hosting provider than upgrade to more expensive plans.
    There was a time they accused me of TOS violation. They deleted some of my files and shut down my website severally saying I have excess database files. They threaten you saying they will put your site offline or suspend your account.
    The company increases the charges after the first year and some of us who prefer fixed rates find HostMonster charges unpredictable. I might consider moving elsewhere.

    posted by Chase Monday, 11 June 2012 16:33 Comment Link
  • Juan

    I have been their customer for several years and their service is incredible. Many web hosts that I moved from cannot come near the service HostMonster provides. I have not experienced any major downtimes or slow loading which makes their services efficient and reliable. This has made me transfer all my domains to HostMonster and I don’t regret it. Anyone complaining should get out there and experience worse service like GoDaddy which was hacked recently and they will appreciate the service they get here.
    I believe that people with large database files and a heavy flow of traffic may have issues with any shared web hosting service not just HostMonster. It is better for them to upgrade to VPS hosting or dedicated servers in order to be assured of quality service. This company has limited capacity on shared hosting servers and they are not able to handle large files on the shared hosting plan.

    posted by Juan Wednesday, 23 May 2012 14:32 Comment Link
Login to post comments
back to top