Menu

Bluehost Reviews

Bluehost Reviews
159
com_k2.item
(57 Reviews, 4.44 out of 5 Stars)
Bluehost Reviews4.44 out of 50 based on 57 voters.


Since 1996 BlueHost which is widely recognized, has provided quality webhosting solutions to its many customers who include businesses and individuals. The web host is dedicated to excellence at competitive prices starting at $4.95/month. The company commands a major share in the market, having hosted more than 1.6M domain names. They offer professional hosting inclusive of many features.

bluehost hosting Reviews

• Free Domain Name
• International Domain Name Support
• Hosting Unlimited Domain Names on a single account
• Instant Hosting Setup
• Unlimited Web Hosting Space
• Unlimited Email Accounts
• Free in-built Drag and Drop Website Builder with Templates
• Auto-installs of software and tools i.e. WordPress, Drupal, Joomla
• 24/7 Technical Assistance

The auto-installs make work easy and the cPanel Control Panel is easy to use.

Complaints about Customer Service

Customer service is awful. Their customer support representatives fail to take responsibility whether it is about downtime, database or other problem. They always claim that, it is not their problem and blame it on other things. They fail to fix the problem.

Functionality Complaints

The servers are oftentimes down slowing or making the sites inaccessible to users for hours or even days. This is frustrating for webmasters who depend on income from their websites. Customers with e-commerce storefronts and those who receive AdSense revenue cannot afford to have such prolonged downtimes because they not only lose traffic but income as well. When the servers fail to respond customers go elsewhere and hardly return. This limits visitors to the site and business is lost.

Cancellation of User Accounts

Some customer’s reviews indicate that the CPU is limited and they put your account offline without warning when you exceed limits. This is very frustrating. They cancel your account without any warning because other hosting companies give you an opportunity to correct what has gone wrong. BlueHost does not give you a chance to rectify the problem. They also cancel accounts due to MySQL problems.

"Unlimited"

The term "unlimited" is only to allure customers. There are caps which when exceeded will be declared as over-usage. The servers are overloaded and the customer has to pay extra fees. When the site receives high flow of traffic the account can either be cancelled or suspended without any warning losing all the data when they have no back-up. They should stop advertising unlimited services because this is what customers expect to get.

Sales Department Complaints

The sales reps charge your account after it is cancelled, when they renew your account automatically. The company continues to charge you after you have cancelled the account and worse still, retain your data. They should let customers move to other providers without penalizing them so heavily.

Technical Support Issues

Technical support reps at BlueHost leave their customers out and fail to communicate with them when they are resolving their problems. This makes the customers very anxious especially when their sites go offline. This is the time you need reassurance and someone to inform you what is happening.

Last modified onFriday, 05 April 2013 02:59
More in this category: « BigCommerce Reviews Codero Reviews »

10 comments

  • Abigail

    Blue host servers are down many times in a month which is so bad. Worse still they have no back-up services and I have to update files whenever there is a problem and I have to keep updating my websites. It is better to opt for a more expensive service provided it is efficient instead of having these problems all the time. When my subscription ends I don’t plan to renew. I am disappointed with Blue host services.
    I do not recommend them at all. Just keep off.

    posted by Abigail Friday, 25 January 2013 17:57 Comment Link
  • David

    If you are considering buying a Blue host packages it is better for you to know the truth before you subscribe with them. They have many limitations and if you need some features you are told to pay extra money. The speed of loading the cPanel can at times be slow. The loading of websites and database files is also slow. The main things I was looking for my e-Commerce store were security and reliability. This is crucial for e-Commerce and having been with Blue host for just a few months I can already tell things are not fine.
    The usage of memory is limited and the company puts your account offline without warning when you exceed limits. This is very frustrating. Other hosting companies give you an opportunity to correct what has gone wrong but BlueHost does not give you a chance to rectify the problem. They usually cancel accounts due to MySQL problems.
    I need a reliable web host that can give me security so I can configure all the functions of my e-Commerce storefront so I can make profit from it. The most necessary features include a shopping cart with SSL Certificates to ensure that customers feel secure when they are making payments with credit cards, debit cards and PayPal without being compromised.

    posted by David Tuesday, 20 November 2012 18:56 Comment Link
  • Olivia

    Customer support at Bluehost is awful. They install third-party software and if anything happens they say there is nothing they can do. Their support representatives fail to take responsibility whether it is about downtime, database or other problem. They always claim that, it is not their problem and blame it on other things. They therefore fail to fix the problem.
    The technicians seem to be incompetent. They are horrible. When they fail to respond or resolve the problems, it just shows their inefficiency. I feel so disappointed. I would not recommend them.

    posted by Olivia Tuesday, 30 October 2012 22:23 Comment Link
  • Andrew

    Our company uses Blue Host plans and most times they run smoothly. The problem arises when their servers return “404 and 500 errors’’. There is no company that can be perfect but the fact that their support crew members are not knowledgeable makes it worse.
    They are not well trained for the job and usually, they say that there is nothing wrong on their side and they even blame you for causing the problems.
    I have read reviews about Blue host charging users fees for services which were included in the original plan if the customer does not renew the account when they fail to charge for the services during sign-up. They do this although it was not stated initially and users are caught by surprise.

    posted by Andrew Saturday, 01 September 2012 12:12 Comment Link
  • Jayden

    Before I subscribed I researched and for me, Bluehost is affordable for the services they provide. They have been providing quality webhosting solutions and I am pleased with their services. I had to pay more for some of the extra features I needed, but that is expected with many web hosts. The set-up was easy and the cPanel is the best control panel I have ever handled.
    Whenever I have issues, I always call the 24/7 toll-free hotlines and I am attended to. I also chat with tech support and when this fails I fill the tickets or email them. I am a member of their forum and I can say that I am satisfied with their services.

    posted by Jayden Thursday, 23 August 2012 04:55 Comment Link
  • Ava

    I am one customer who had an awful experience with BlueHost technical support. They failed to fix my problems within the time they had promised. There was a problem with my email account and also my Drupal files. They deleted my files saying I had exceeded CPU limits but I was not even using CPU at that time. They did not have back-up services which put my work in a critical situation. My email account was also inaccessible and my customers were calling me to ask what happened.
    I asked for their help but they failed me. This is very frustrating indeed. I called support and explained all this to them but they failed to take responsibility. They claimed that a program which I had installed was causing these problems and it was not on their side. This was not true. They failed to resolve the problem and blame it on other things. I am waiting for my term to end.

    posted by Ava Sunday, 12 August 2012 06:22 Comment Link
  • Christopher

    I like the features provided by Blue Host and the set-up is easy and straight-forward. The auto-installs make work easy and the cPanel Control Panel is easy to use.
    I had signed for the Pro Account for 2 years. The service was OK during this time until the tem ended. I did not wish to renew so I told them so. At this time I did not know about hidden charges so when I failed to renew they charged me for services which were free when I had signed-up originally. I did not expect this so I kept calling the billing department but help was not forthcoming. I told them that I was not cancelling the account but that my 2-year tem had just ended and I did not want to renew.
    You should avoid Blue Host at all cost.

    posted by Christopher Saturday, 11 August 2012 05:24 Comment Link
  • Matthew

    I hosted my site with Bluehost and since I am not tech savvy, I kept calling them several times to ask questions. The technical support representatives were very helpful. They were also patient with me and they explained what I needed to do, clearly. I followed the instructions they gave me and everything worked fine. When I came across something I could not do, they helped me out and there was no time they showed me I was a novice through the whole process. I am happy with the services at Bluehost and I am OK with the price they charge for these services.
    Before I bought the packages I first enquired about them using the toll-free telephone line and I was satisfied with their offer. Thank you Bluehost.

    posted by Matthew Wednesday, 06 June 2012 18:32 Comment Link
  • Madison

    I have an account with Blue Host and the customer service team members are polite and friendly. They respond promptly to my phone calls and the hold times are minimal. The representatives speak fluent English and they answer the questions precisely to the point, which means they are real people and not answering machines.
    Blue Host has included all the features I was looking for and they are a great hosting company whether you are a novice or an advanced webmaster. The auto-installs make work easy and the cPanel Control Panel is something anyone can work with even a beginner. I find the drag and drop site builder straight-forward. I used it to create my website within the first day.

    posted by Madison Tuesday, 07 February 2012 03:13 Comment Link
  • Emily

    Hosting Service
    Bluehost has been providing quality webhosting solutions to businesses and individuals together with its sister companies FastDomain and HostMonster. The company is among the largest web hosts and is usually included among the first 10 best web hosting companies. It is dedicated to excellence and innovations in order to provide webmasters with successful sites.
    Bluehost has included all the features any customer would be looking for whether you are a novice or an advanced webmaster.
    Customer Service
    Customer service has won Awards in the past. There are customers who say the team members are polite and friendly. However, there are customers who say their accounts were closed down without warning. At times this was blamed on over usage of CPU but the customers say this was not the case.
    Functionality Complaints
    Some customers who have been with Bluehost for years, say they have no problem.
    But like other shared hosting services, other users may cause some problems to your site. The servers are slow which make the websites and emails go offline for hours or even days. Some customers’ reviews indicate that when the CPU is limit is exceeded, they put your account offline without warning.
    Cancellation of User Accounts
    There are reviews about Bluehost charging customers fees of services which were included in the original plan if the customer does not renew the account. This was not stated initially and users are caught by surprise.
    Technical Support Issues
    The support people are helpful and friendly and there are some customers who commend them. Yet, there are customers who had bad experiences with Bluehost technical support who fail to fix their problems. They fail to take responsibility. They claim that, it is not their problem and blame it on other things.

    posted by Emily Monday, 09 January 2012 04:43 Comment Link
Login to post comments
back to top